Auto Care Association Forms New Sustainability Committee

Auto Care Association Forms New Sustainability Committee

The committee features perspectives on sustainability across the entire industry.

This article appears courtesy of Tire Review.

The Auto Care Association has announced the formation of a new advisory committee that focuses on environmental sustainability in the auto care industry. The new sustainability committee aims to increase awareness of the importance of sustainability, create a long-term strategy to initiate evolution in our industry’s practices and highlight businesses that implement those practices, Auto Care Association said.

In its initial phase, the association said the sustainability committee will focus on four strategic areas: 

  • An industry education campaign encouraging sustainable environmental efforts and promotion of the automotive aftermarket as a sustainable industry;
  • the evaluation and influence of legislative policies that benefit both the environment and the industry;
  • providing guidance on the advantages and opportunities of recycling; and
  • fostering best practice sharing and enhancement of industry standards to become more environmentally friendly.

According to the Auto Care Association, the sustainability committee is composed of association members and sustainability experts who are passionate about the ecological integrity of the auto care industry’s activities. The committee features perspectives from across the entire supply chain, from manufacturers to warehouse distributors to retailers and shops. The founding members are:

  • Ben Spitz, Parts Authority (Committee Chair);
  • Stefan Feder, Continental (Committee Vice Chair);
  • Malcolm Sissmore, BorgWarner (Executive Committee Member);
  • Joe Stephan, Nexus (Executive Committee Member);
  • Mike Allen, Federated Auto Parts Distributors, Inc.;
  • Scott Cannon, O’Reilly Auto Parts;
  • Michael Cowan, Honest1 Auto Care;
  • Lee Forman, Dynamic Automotive;
  • Don Gebhardt, Valvoline Global;
  • Lisa Gochenour, Highline Warren LLC;
  • Troy Hitchcock, AutoZone;
  • Michael Kitching, GB Remanufacturing, Inc.;
  • Theo Lamperis, BBB Industries, LLC;
  • Mike Leupold, EnerSys (Odyssey Battery);
  • Thomas Pajer, Bridgestone;
  • Micah Thompson, Advance Auto Parts.

The inaugural sustainability committee meeting will take place at Spring Leadership Days (part of Auto Care Connect) on Thursday, May 25, 2023. Representatives from interested companies may attend the public portion of the committee meeting by registering here.

You May Also Like

Advance To Spin Off Worldpac To Counter Losses

Advance also will divest its Canadian business and announced a $150 million cost-reduction program.

Advance Auto Parts, Inc., an automotive aftermarket parts provider in North America, announced that it has decided to focus on its “blended box business model” and initiate a separate sale process for Worldpac as well as its Canadian business. In its third-quarter financial report, Advance also said it is launching a new cost reduction program that is expected to generate at least $150 million in savings on an annualized basis.

AAPEX Announces Product, Packaging Showcase Winners

Products and packaging were judged via the digital copy of the Product Plus Magazine.

MAHLE Aftermarket Gives ‘Choice of Champions’ Award

Winner chose between a customized Jeep Gladiator and a and a 1,000 HP Z06 Corvette.

TPMS Suppliers See Progress from Tool Update Campaign

The impetus to start the campaign came as many TPMS tool suppliers saw an increase of calls to their tech help lines.

MEMA Aftermarket Suppliers Announces 2024 Vision Conference

To be held in April in Dearborn, MI, the conference theme is “The New Aftermarket: Embracing Change to Drive Growth.”

Other Posts

Forecast: 80% Drop In U.S. Transportation Emissions By 2050

NREL’s study highlights rapid adoption of zero-emission vehicles as crucial for an 80% emissions reduction.

Auto Care, MEMA Aftermarket Release 2023 Joint EV Report

The report shows that BEV sales are projected to account for 9% of total US light vehicles sales in 2023.

UAF Elects New Chairman, Officers, Trustees For 2024

Roger McCollum will serve as UAF chairman for 2024, replacing Bob Egan.

ALI Celebrates 10 Years of Inspector Certification Program

ALI Certified Lift inspectors have inspected more than 1.3 million car lifts.