ASA Honors Member Achievements At 2014 Celebration Of Excellence -

ASA Honors Member Achievements At 2014 Celebration Of Excellence

The Automotive Service Association (ASA) held its Celebration of Excellence Aug. 1 at the Henry Ford Museum in Dearborn, Mich. – a site located close to ASA’s NACE | CARS 2014 events in downtown Detroit. The annual awards dinner honors the achievements of ASA members and its industry partners.

Dan Risley, ASA’s president and executive director, hosted the program, which opened with the Automotive Management Institute (AMI) graduation ceremony recognizing those who have earned the Accredited Automotive Manager (AAM) designation.

Awards and scholarships presented during ASA’s Celebration of Excellence included:

• The Tom B. Babcox Memorial Scholarship, presented to Steve Geiling, Geiling Service Inc., Metairie, La.

• The BodyShop Business Magazine Scholarship, which went to Patrick Johnson, Brothers Body & Paint Inc., Martinsville, Ind.

• This year’s Arrowhead Automotive Specialty Market “High Octane” Scholarship, which went to Chris Pfefferle, Pfefferle Tire and Auto Service, Fairfield, Ohio.

• The Emil Stanley Merit Award, which was presented to Stefany Lorang, LaMettry’s Collision, Inver Grove Heights, Minn.

• A special AMI Continuing Education Recognition honor, which went to Jerry Holcom, S&S Service Center Inc., Kansas City, Mo., for his commitment to AMI and continuing education.

• ASA’s Phoenix Award, which recognizes an ASA Collision Division member for his or her contribution to the automotive service industry, went to Michael Anderson,

• ASA’s Alpha Award, which recognizes an ASA Mechanical Division member for his or her generous and far-reaching contributions to the automotive service industry, was given to Bill Moss, AAM, EuroService Automotive, Warrenton, Va.

• The ASA Legislative Award, which recognizes those who have made an impact on legislative and regulatory activities, this year honored Diane Larson of Larson’s Service Inc. in Peabody, Mass. She was recognized for her efforts to represent ASA at service information hearings and meetings in Massachusetts, as well as other repair-related policy issues.

• The ASA Partnership Award, which recognizes an individual, group or company that has voluntarily worked together with ASA to further the industry and the association, was given to Ray Fisher, executive director of ASA-Michigan, for his input, direction and unwavering support of NACE/CARS 2014.

• The ASA Benefit Provider of the Year, which is presented to a sponsored benefit provider in appreciation of its relationship with ASA, and for the value, quality and professional service it offers to ASA members. This year’s recipient was AutoZone.

• The Chairman’s Award of Excellence, which recognizes individuals for their outstanding contributions to ASA and the automotive repair industry, went to Roy Schnepper, AAM, Butler’s Collision, Roseville, Mich.

ASA’s next awards program will again be held in conjunction with the association’s annual trade shows – the International Autobody Congress and Exposition (NACE) and the Congress of Automotive Repair and Service (CARS). The shows will be held July 23-25, 2015. The location has not been determined.

You May Also Like

AACF Celebrates 65 Years Serving the Aftermarket

AACF will be announcing more details about this commemorative fundraiser April 1st.

The Automotive Aftermarket Charitable Foundation (AACF), a 501c3 supporting people in the automotive aftermarket industry and their families during the hardest moments of their lives, said it is "thrilled to recognize 2024 as the year the organization celebrates its 65th anniversary, a testament to decades of heartfelt assistance to families within the automotive aftermarket sector." Originally established in 1959 as AFFTA, AACF owes its inception to the visionary spirit of Don Schlenger, a beloved figure in the automotive aftermarket industry.

Federated Upgrades Car Care Center Program

The program features new signage, marketing support and shop operations assistance.

DOJ, FTC Support MEMA Aftermarket Suppliers’ Petition

The petition expands consumer access to vehicle operational, diagnostic and telematics data.

Auto Care Association Launches REPAIR Act Videos

New resource emphasizes the need for federal REPAIR Act legislation.

Vehlo Acquires Shop Management Software, Shop-Ware

Shop-Ware is a cloud-based shop management platform for independent repair shops.

Other Posts

Karma Automotive Launches All-Electric Sedan

Distinctive styling, with unique chassis and drivetrain setup, add prestige.

Applications Open for Federated Car Care Scholarships

Completed applications due to by March 31.

Jacki Lutz Named Content Director at Auto Care Association

Lutz will lead a cross-functional and multimedia content strategy.

MEMA Celebrates 120th Anniversary

Milestone underscores MEMA’s legacy supporting vehicle suppliers’ interests.